Monster Energy Woodhill DJO Results, Videos and PicturesBack to News >

24th May 2011 by haydz

Despite the fact that on the Wednesday before the main event, the jumps in the Monster Energy Airfield were being drenched with yet another mood dampening assault from mother nature and the event was on the verge of being called the Mud Jump Open, the three main players on the Woodhill Trail Crew made the call that The 2011 Monster Energy Woodhill Dirt Jump Open (DJO) could still be pulled off.

Around 2 tonnes of fresh sandstone was bought in and allocated to the “10 hit” dirt playground by hand to soak up any water that was stubbornly not “just going away”.   Then it was in the hands of the weather gods. And for the 4th year running those weather gods sure did make a few people smile.  Throw in most of NZ’s top MTB dirt riders, some local rippers and a bunch of the the best local BMXers and you have yourself a pretty good day out.

The action kicked off on the Saturday where the riders got to try out the newly refurbished Monster Energy Airfield and feel it out for the main event on the following day.   30 riders qualified into Junior, BMX and MTB classes.

Log Entry: Woodhill Mountain Bike Park, Sunday 22 May 2011 9am. Top and Bottom Carpark … Full … It’s DJO time!

The crowd were quickly getting in their weekend ride in the “main part” of Woodhill MTB Park’s 100km purpose built trail network to make sure they were back at 1pm to check out the neighbouring action in one of the few big fulltime dirt jump arenas in NZ.

That crowd estimated to be around the 1000 mark was not let down as riders “threw down” tricks to try and grab the judges attention.  As the action got hotter the crowd rose to the occasion and fed the riders with more adrenaline to pull off some crazy tricks including Invercargill rider Conor McFarlane’s front flip and Wanaka Local Tani Te Pou’s 360 Tail Whip.

As numbers dropped through injury and equipment failure several riders flew through to the second round and then into the finals.  Before the last riders got to prove themselves and take out the title, there was the matter of the 2nd Nature Valley best Trick contest (the earlier best trick contest ended with local BMXer Liam Marshall crashing a 720 attempt and being taken away in an ambulance as a precaution.  The riders decided to keep riding and we have since heard that Liam is home and well).

The aptly named “Monster Jump” was surrounded by eager onlookers as only the really keen riders rolled down the lead in step down to the screams of the crowd and pulled of big trick after big trick after big trick to try and nab the cash.  Despite Wanaka’s Elmo Cotter’ and Aucklander Matt Harris’ back flip attempts, the prize money went to Raglan’s Lewis Jones’ ‘Super Seat Grab’.   Lewis had only hit the jump for the first time earlier in the weekend after avoiding it for nearly 2 years because it “was too big”.   He deserved the cash as he looked very much at home flying over the 10m gap 6m in the air at 40km and hour holding on to his seat with his legs out and above his head…Wow!

The Final round followed with the top 5 riders in each class having one last chance to wow the judges.   Lets just say that the judges had an extremely hard task to try and pick the winners from an outstanding bunch of riders all worthy of a share in the prizes.   Once again Lewis Jones shone with his combination tricks and his silky smooth style and took out the MTB Class jumping up from his 3rd place from last year.  Conor Benson (AKL) pipped last years winner Nick Dethridge (AKL) in the junior class.  New for 2011’s BMX class was won by George Bolter (AKL).

More info, videos and pictures can be seen on the events page and photo gallery and Over the Top Productions video link.  Will be updated as more come in this week.

Please continue to support this years sponsors Monster Energy, Sram, ABD, Fox, Nature Valley and Oakley.

Thanks to our three judges Tim White, Richie Mac and Alan Montifiore.

Thanks also all those media who contributed, especially Thomas Lloyd, John Colthorpe and Jamie McKenzie.

Comments are closed.